Introductions…

Standard

Introductions have never been terribly complicated things. Many of us learn how to introduce ourselves over the phone before we join preschool, and when tasked with learning a foreign language they are often the first string of dialogue we practice.

Introductions almost always include a name (this seems obvious, but I’ll get to the importance of this in a second). Introductions can include an occupation or acquaintanceship, and occasionally a location depending on the situation. The typical introduction is benign, forgotten within minutes of being spoken; however an introduction can be a powerful three second insight to someone else’s world.

This weekend a friend of mine introduced me to her mother who was visiting from out of town. This friend and I have known each other for a few years and have similar backgrounds, her mother knew nothing of me other than I was a friend who occasionally gets storm bound and commandeers her couch for weeks at a time. The introduction could have included various tidbits of unessential knowledge including but not limited to where I work, where I live, how we met… the list goes on. This introduction was different. It was simple, it might have been a long shot, but it made me reconsider instructions as a method of communication and it went something like this…

“Mom, this is Erin Margaret…She is going to save the world”

It is true that my ultimate end goal of life if to save the world. I think this is a goal most people share.  But this was not just a statement of my life’s goals; this three second sentence gave me a brief look through my friend’s eyes. It solidified her approval in my dreams and instilled the confidence in me to look deeper at what I am actually doing here.  

My challenge for myself from now until forever is to change my traditional introductions into something a little more meaningful. Starting right not I am going to give it a shot.

About globalmargaret

I am a Mid-Western college graduate who signed a contract on a whim last April. The contract took me to Nome, Alaska where I presently live and work. I love nature, hiking, good food, music, ukulele, knitting, sewing, anything creative, and just being still

One response »

  1. There is no greater statement that I can mom can hear about her child! As you grow and develop in to the wonderful and amazing human being you are becoming, I know you can accomplish ever dream you have ever cared to reach! and I know that you will continue your quest to save the world. I only hope you will call your mom along the way….

Leave a Reply

