Farewell…

Standard

The time has come for me to say farewell to Rwanda and my new adopted friends and family. Life in the compound is rather transient, not unlike Nome. Aid workers are coming and going, volunteers get stationed elsewhere, and people seem to drop and disappear just as quickly as they came. I have been to a variety of ‘going away’ parties in my short time here but none have been as lively as tonight.

The whole compound showed up to wish me well this evening. Agnes our cook made my favorite red beans and kasava bread, we even had the new ‘Fanta Fiesta’ flavor to commemorate the event. Emanuel, one of the local students came with his (very poorly tuned) violin and led the room with stomping and dancing for nearly an hour. There was traditional dancing, drums and stringed instruments, and a ukulele of corse. The who event lasted well in to the night and I apologize to any Remara residents we kept awake.

It was a good trip and I will be sad to leave the beautiful people I have met here, but it is time for me to return to Nome and continue on bigger and better adventures. When I arrive home I hope to prepare a piece of land (still working on where) for the yurt. There will be plenty of things to keep me busy and blog about in the mean time. With any luck my next entry will come from one of many airplane rides in my not so distant future.

About globalmargaret

I am a Mid-Western college graduate who signed a contract on a whim last April. The contract took me to Nome, Alaska where I presently live and work. I love nature, hiking, good food, music, ukulele, knitting, sewing, anything creative, and just being still

Leave a Reply

