back with the civilized…

Standard

I landed at Chicago O’Hare last night on a brief jaunt through civilization on my way to Rwanda. I can learn to love a lot of things, but I don’t believe high class Chicago style living is one of them.

My sister and her new husband have a beautiful apartment down town, there are security guards and numbers to punch in at the door. The elevators don’t have a button, you instead hold a little key thing up to the wall and an elevator comes to get you. Everything inside my sisters apartment is sterile and modern. I have nothing against a good clean kitchen and bathroom, but she puts lysol on her cats feet so she won’t cary the germs out of the litter box. I happen to believe there is a certain amount of ‘germs’ every home needs to be healthy. Getting dirt, even potting soil, under your nails and eating a little sand on the beach has never hurt anyone.

Out of the city and back in to the dirt, my next entries will come to you from the seats of several 8+hour airplane rides along my way…

peace and blessings

…Erin Margaret…

About globalmargaret

I am a Mid-Western college graduate who signed a contract on a whim last April. The contract took me to Nome, Alaska where I presently live and work. I love nature, hiking, good food, music, ukulele, knitting, sewing, anything creative, and just being still

Leave a Reply

