modern conveniences…

Standard

While preparing for my yurt to come on the July barge I have been contemplating many aspects of ‘city’ life.

Where I live now is by far not a city even the city I live near is not a city), I live on Anvil Mountain in Nome, Alaska. There are about 7 houses near us. You can see town if you walk up the mountain a bit, but we are most definitely not in it. The apartment I am in now comes with very expensive electricity, well water when out pump isn’t frozen (between november and april) and a cute little monitor heater, and a almost always unplowed but easily snowshoe-able driveway. These conveniences have taken the following priority in my life and I will include them in the yurt as follows…

Heat- A non-electric fuel oil burning ‘nordic stove’ which I will be able to cook on

Furniture – I have a book shelf and will add furniture as I can afford it. A bed most likely being my first purchase followed by a chair or possibly a table… (this is probably be near winter)

Electricity – NO

Running Water- NO

Light- Ill consider it… probably not.

About globalmargaret

I am a Mid-Western college graduate who signed a contract on a whim last April. The contract took me to Nome, Alaska where I presently live and work. I love nature, hiking, good food, music, ukulele, knitting, sewing, anything creative, and just being still

Leave a Reply

