I am not racist…

Standard

Please understand that I am not racist. That being said, the jury is still out as if I agree with the following comment I found on an employment application….

(company name) shall to the extent feasible give preference in employment for all work performed under applicable contracts to qualified Alaska Natives/American Indians regardless of age, religion or sex; and further extend employment and training opportunities to Alaska Natives/American Indians, regardless of age, religion or sex that are not fully qualified.

That passage is directly copy/pasted from an employment application for a local non-profit organization. I completely believe in affirmative action. If two people have the same credentials and work history, there is no reason why one should be hired just because he is white. It is the last sentence here that I don’t quite understand. “that are not fully qualified” This tells me that if I apply for this job and meet the education and work experience requirements I can  out to someone who does not meet the requirements but happens to be of the race they are looking for. Isn’t this why affirmative action was created in the first place? So that one race would not have unfair advantage over the other simply because of skin color? Maybe I am reading this wrong, but something isn’t’ right here…

About globalmargaret

I am a Mid-Western college graduate who signed a contract on a whim last April. The contract took me to Nome, Alaska where I presently live and work. I love nature, hiking, good food, music, ukulele, knitting, sewing, anything creative, and just being still

Leave a Reply

