Confidence strikes again…

Standard

Perhaps I am over confident. The word naive comes to mind. Idiot wouldn’t be a bad choice either according to certain members of my family… Last week was the final week to sign my contract for another year of teaching (or not teaching) at my lovely little technical school in the tundra. I didn’t sign. I don’t have another job lined up; I haven’t even applied to any. But I have a few I would like to apply for and I think that should count for something.

There is a terrible job shortage (or so I am told) that didn’t seem to prevent me from getting a job on my first interview, before finishing my degree, without filling out the application, or knowing what I was interviewing for. Now that my degree is finished, I have a year of “real” work experience under my belt, and I know what I don’t want to be doing, I think I have a pretty good shot of finding a job I won’t hate going to every morning.¬†Regardless, for the next however long it takes to find a job I am going to document everything.

The news has been telling me that it is impossible for new graduates to enter the work force. ¬†They have been telling me that people who are on unemployment have been applying for jobs consistently, and that those jobs often have over 300 applicants for one spot. I don’t believe it. Any of it. But I guess I will find out.

About globalmargaret

I am a Mid-Western college graduate who signed a contract on a whim last April. The contract took me to Nome, Alaska where I presently live and work. I love nature, hiking, good food, music, ukulele, knitting, sewing, anything creative, and just being still

Leave a Reply

